sacred canons
Read Online

sacred canons a concise presentation of the current disciplinary norms of the Church by John A. Abbo

  • 887 Want to read
  • ·
  • 67 Currently reading

Published by Herder in St. Louis .
Written in English


  • Canon law.

Book details:

Edition Notes

Bibliography: v.2, p.873-890.

Statementby John A. Abbo and Jerome D. Hannan.
ContributionsHannan, Jerome D. 1896- joint author.
The Physical Object
Pagination2 v. ;
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL16506983M

Download sacred canons


THE SACRED CANONS, VOLS I-II Hardcover – by John A. Abbo and Jerome D. Hannan (Author)Author: John A. Abbo and Jerome D. Hannan. A biblical canon or canon of scripture is a set of texts (or "books") which a particular religious community regards as authoritative scripture. Old Testament Books. Jewish tradition traces the collection of the Old Testament books to the time of Ezra (mid-5th century B.C.). It may have been a while later before the entire “canon” was actually recognized. By the time Christ was born, there were two versions of the Old Testament. The Deuterocanonical Books of the Bible These are books which are included in some version of the canonical Bible, but which have been excluded at one time or another, for textual or doctrinal issues. These are called 'Deuterocanonical', which literally means 'the secondary canon.'.

SACRED PLACES AND TIMES. TITLE I: SACRED PLACES (Cann. - ) Can. Sacred places are those which are designated for divine worship or for the burial of the faithful by a dedication or a blessing which the liturgical books prescribe for this purpose. The canon is the collection of 27 books, which the church (generally) receives as its New Testament Scriptures. The history of the canon is the history of the process by which these books were brought together and their value as sacred Scriptures officially recognized. This canon, the Catholic Bible, consists of 73 books that the church considers sacred. The Old Testament Written at some point between and B.C., the Old Testament consists of 46 books split topically into the Torah, Prophets and Writings. There are three canons of Sacred Scripture deserving of special mention: the Alexandrian, the Palestinian, and the Tridentine. a. The Alexandrian Canon indicates that collection of all the books of the Old Testament contained in the Greek translation called the Septuagint, which appeared in Alexandria during the III century B.C.

Protestants agree with Judaism, as to which books comprise the Canon of Old Testament Inspired Holy Scripture. Roman Catholics also accept these same books as Holy Scripture. In , the (Roman Catholic) Council of Trent declared the Canonicity of some additional books which they call the "Deutero-Canonical" (2nd Canon) books. Josephus refers to sacred scriptures divided into three parts, the five books of the Torah, thirteen books of the Nevi'im, and four other books of hymns and wisdom: "For we have not an innumerable multitude of books among us, disagreeing from and contradicting one another [as the Greeks have], but only twenty-two books, which contain all the records of all the past times; which are justly believed to be divine; . Feb 12,  · The Rudder (Pedalion) of the Metaphorical Ship of the One Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church of the Orthodox Christians, or All the Sacred and Divine Canons [Nicodemus the Hagiorite, Agapius the Monk, Denver Cummings] on *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers. Complete copy of this edition, with no ISBN. The second title page is a reproduction of the edition/5(4). Sacred Books of China Traditional Chinese Beliefs Confucian Canon. Although three of four of these books are traditionally attributed to Confucius (K'ung-tzu, B.C.E.) it has been established that he did not write a single word of them; they were written down by his students after his death.